QuickBooks Online: What’s the difference between the Company Administrator and the Master Administrator

QuickBooks Online: What’s the difference between the Company Administrator and the Master Administrator?

Company Administrator: Access to all features and capabilities in QuickBooks company file and can see everything.
Master Administrator: All the access rights of a Company Administrator. You cannot delete or change the access rights of the Master Administrator.

There is only one Master Administrator. The person who initially creates a company is automatically assigned as its Master Administrator.

No one can delete the Master Administrator nor change the Master Administrator’s access rights.

The only way to delete the user with the Master Administrator role is to first transfer that role to another user. Only then can you delete the user who previously had that role. See below how to transfer.

Example: if there are two accountant users in QBO, and you want to remove one and invite another, only the Master Admin can do that. However, if there’s only one (instead of two) accountant user in QBO, a Company admin can also invite them. Only the Master Admin can delete the accountant user.

To Accounting Firms setting up the client on wholesale billing account: if you are paying the monthly subscription fees, it’s a recommended to set up as the Master Admin.


Where is “Manager Users” located in QBO?

From the homepage dashboard > Gear (⚙) icon at the top right corner > Your Company > Manage Users.


 

How do I make someone else the Master Administrator?

Only the current Master Administrator can make this transfer. The new Master Administrator must be an active Company Administrator with an email account.

To transfer the Master Administrator role to an active Company Administrator:

  • Sign in as the Master Administrator.
  • Click the Gear icon > Manage Users.
  • Click Transfer Master Administrator, and follow the instructions.
  • In the Transfer To drop-down list, select the name of the new Master Administrator.
  • Click Finish.

If you do not see the Transfer Master Administrator button, then either you are not signed in as the Master Administrator or there are no other users.

An email will be sent to the person being invited to become the new Master Administrator. That person will need to accept the invitation from the email before the transfer takes place.


 

Transfer Master Administrator for Simple Start companies.

To transfer the Master Administrator rights for QuickBooks Online Simple Start please contact support.


 

Also, read this QuickBooks Help article for more info.

What is a Billable user? under Manage Users in QBO

What is a Billable user? under Manage Users in QBO

A billable user is a counted user from the number of allowable users (3) you can add in QuickBooks Online. It could be a regular or custom user and/or company Admin user. You will not be billed with this since it’s a feature that comes along with your subscription. You can see your Manage Users window by clicking the Gear icon in the upper right corner and choosing Manage Users.

 





QuickBooks Online - Buy now and save 50%


How to provide QBO access to my CPA, Accountant, Tax Accountant or Bookkeeping firm in new QuickBooks Online?

Adding accountant access (allowed up to two) is quick and easy in the new QuickBooks Online. Simply follow the steps outlined below, and you’ll be all set.

1.Sign in to your QuickBooks Online company.

2.Choose Company Gear Icon (upper right corner) > Manage Users under Your Company heading.

3.Go to the Accountants section and click Invite Accountant.

4.Enter your accountant’s email address (use the same email address if they already have QBOA account) and first/last name (optional).

5.Your accountant will be sent an email that contains a link for signing in to your company.

6.Your accountant will be asked to create a user ID before signing in the first time, unless they already have an account with Intuit Business Services.

7.Until your accountant signs in, their status on the Manage Users page is “Invited.” After accepting the invitation, their status changes to “Active.”

8.Click Next and Finish.

 

Invite Accountant

Is there a way to give a person access only to a specific tab only in new QuickBooks Online (QBO)?

Unfortunately the answer is no at this time.  Even if you customize the user account or limit their rights, these are the following permission or rights they can perform:

  • Enter estimates, invoices, sales receipts, credit memos, and refunds
  • Enter charges and credits
  • Create and delete statements
  • Receive payments from customers
  • Fill out time sheets for anyone
  • Add, edit, and delete customers
  • Add, edit, and delete products and services
  • View customer registers
  • View customer and A/R reports

 

If you feel this feature need to be added in future revision, please add your voice here.  We’ve already done it in the past.
http://feedback.qbo.intuit.com

 

 

How many “Manage Users” accounts are allowed with QB Online Plus?

It depends on which type of user you’re adding to the account. A normal QB Online Plus subscription allows you to have up to four additional users for a total of five users. Also, you can add up to two accountant type users and an unlimited number of time tracking users.

Additional users can be added to your QB Online Plus subscription for an additional cost. If you need to add more regular/custom or company administrative users, all you need to do is continue to add users. When you try to add more than your max, the system will give you a prompt about the new cost associated with adding over five users. You will be able to add on addition users over the initial five up to the max of 25 users.