Categories
Chart of Accounts QuickBooks Online QBO Wipe Data

How to wipe out QBO company data file and create an empty Chart of Accounts COA

If you have Essentials (or higher) plan and your account has been active for 60 days or less, you can wipe out your company data file and also create a new chart of accounts at the same time if you want.

To wipe the data and create a new COA from your QuickBooks Online account:

  1. Log in to your QuickBooks Online Company.
  2. Change the URL to include /purgecompany. Example: URL shows https://qbo.intuit.com/c28/app/homepage
    • change to: https://qbo.intuit.com/c28/app/purgecompany
  3. The next screen will provide a summary of the items to be deleted. Type the word yes if you want the data deleted, then select OK.
  4. Select “Create an empty chart of accounts (select only with the advice of an accountant)” under Create accounts based on my industry tab. (THIS IS ONLY IF YOU WANT TO WIPE OUT EXISTING CHART OF ACCOUNTS AND CREATE A NEW COA). QBO will leave with few defaults accounts only.
  5. Select “Wipe Data” once your selections are complete.

When the deletion is complete, you’ll be rerouted to your home page.

Warning: Please keep in mind that this process will delete all data entered into the company. Once the data is deleted, it can’t be restored or reversed.

Wipe data including COA
Categories
Wipe Data Your Account Your Company Your Company Id

I have Quickbooks Online Simple Start. I want to wipe out data and start over. Help.

For Simple Start version, you’ve two options:

  1. If you want to keep same login information, delete created transactions one at a time. Time consuming process.
  2. Cancel current subscription. Create new account with new login information.
Categories
Wipe Data Your Account Your Company Your Company Id

How do I change into another one if I have more than one company I operate in new QuickBooks Online?

From the home page screen

  • Select the Company Gear (located at upper-corner)
  • Select “Switch Company” under Your Company heading
  • It will take you to login screen with the following messages:
    Company Selection
    Our records show that you have access to more than one company, or multiple users in the same company.
    QuickBooks Online Companies
    newqbo (example)
    oldqbo (example)
    futureqbo (example)
    Canceled Companies
    Oldco (example)

Switch Company
Switch Company

Categories
Wipe Data Your Account Your Company

How to wipe out all data and start over fresh in new QuickBooks Online and Essentials, not Simple Start?

How to wipe all the info of my company and start over in QuickBooks Online Plus and Essentials? Click here for QuickBooks Online Simple Start instructions.

If you’re a new customer and are within the first 60 days of having set up your account, you can delete all of the existing data and start over from scratch. If your account has been setup for more than 60 days you will need to cancel your current company and start a new company in order to start from scratch.

To complete the process, follow the instructions below:

Log in to your QuickBooks Online company.
Change the URL to include /purgecompany instead of /homepage

EXAMPLE:

URL shows: https://qbo.intuit.com/c27/app/homepage
Change to: https://qbo.intuit.com/c27/app/purgecompany

Also check out YouTube Video guide.

QuickBooks Online Plus and Essentials: How do I delete (wipe out) all my data and start over?

NOTE: This process only works for QuickBooks Online Plus and Essentials. It does not work for QuickBooks Online Simple Start. Click here for QuickBooks Online Simple Start instructions.

Categories
Wipe Data Your Account Your Company Your Company Id

How to wipe all the info of my company in QuickBooks Online Simple Start, not QuickBooks Online Plus or Essentials?

It is a multi step process.

Cancel Trial
Cancel Trial

To Cancel your Current subscription:

From the Home page screen

  • Click on the Company Gear symbol in the upper right hand corner
  • Click on “Your Account”
  • Click on Edit Billing Info
  • You will then see a link that says Cancel Trial (or Subscription) , Click on that
  • You will get a little survey, and you want to answer that survey, and then click on continue.
  • Your subscription will then be cancelled.

To Open a New Subscription – You may approach this one of two ways

  • Call our support team and have them open a new account for you. Ask for keeping same login name.
  • 1-800-488-7330

    6am-6pm (PDT) M-F , 6am-3pm (PDT) Sat

    wait time varies (from 20 minutes to 40 minutes)

     OR

  • Go to the internet, and go to www.QuickBooks.com
  • At the top of the screen, click on “Free Trial”
  • You will then get to a screen that shows you all 3 platforms that they offer for new QuickBooks Online, and you may pick which one you would like to use and click on the “Sign up for Free Trial” link.
  • Once you are finished signing up, then you will be able to go back to qbo.intuit.com and sign into your new company and begin working.