Categories
Your Account Your Company Your Company Id

Consolidating your companies under one user ID

Your companies can be consolidated under one user ID, but it requires several steps. If you try to simply change the user ID within the Your Personal Info section, you will see a message that the user ID is already in use.

To accomplish the consolidation, follow these steps:

First, send the invitation:

  1. Sign in to the company for which you wish to change the user ID.
  2. Choose Company > Manage Users.
  3. Create a new user ID for yourself by clicking New at the bottom right. Make sure to select Company Administrator as the user type.
  4. After the new user has been created, sign out.

Second, accept the invitation:

  1. Check your email for the invitation.
  2. Click the link to Accept.
  3. Choose the top option for “Already signed up?  If you already have a user ID and password, click here to sign in,”  and enter the already-established user ID you wish to associate with this company.
  4. Sign out.

If you are the Master Administrator of the company for which you are changing the user ID, you need to do the following additional steps:

  • Transfer Master Admin rights:
  1. Sign in to the company with your original user ID.
  2. Choose Company > Manage Users.
  3. On the bottom left, click Transfer Master Administrator.
  4. Select the new user you just created (you), and then click OK.
  5. Sign out.
  • Accept Master Admin Rights:
  1. Check your e-mail for the Master Admin transfer notification.
  2. Click Accept.
  • Delete previous user with old user ID:

Note:  If this user has memorized reports you will need to switch them to the new user before deleting:

To switch the reports:

  1. Sign in with the new user information and sign out.
  2. Sign in using your old user information.
  3. Go to the Reports tab and click Memorized Reports.
  4. Highlight one of the reports you wish to switch and click Edit.
  5. Go to or click on the Related Activities and Information link; within the Related Activities section, select Copy this report to other users.
  6. Select the new user you created and click Add>.
  7. Click OK and then Save.
  8. Repeat steps 3-6 until all the memorized reports are switched.

Now you can continue with deleting the old user ID.

  1. Sign in to your company with your “new” user ID.
  2. Choose Company > Manage Users.
  3. Highlight your previous user ID (this will now have Company Admin by it).
  4. Click Delete.

Now when you sign in to QuickBooks Online, all companies which are associated with your user ID will appear so that you can easily choose from among them.

Note: To switch between companies once they’ve been consolidated, go to your company name at the top of each QuickBooks Online page and select Switch Companies.

Source